Happy Birthday Mom!

Image

Today is the founder of Maison Decor’s birthday! (She’s also my mom.)

I’ve always wondered if February 15th is a somewhat strange birthday to have, what with Valentine’s Day only 24 hours removed. I imagine it can sometimes feel a little bit less special when everyone gets a big day on the 14th (cards, flowers, a dinner, etc.) and the 15th probably includes a lot of the same exercises. Kind of like having a birthday on Christmas, but not as much.

It may sound corny, but I wanted to make it known how special my mom is, especially on her birthday. She built this company from scratch, and transferred some of her talents to me and allowed me to hitch my wagon to her star. Beyond learning how to curate a store and paint and distress antique furniture, she taught me how to be a (what I hope to be a pretty good) person. She’s always been a mom foremost, and as generous and helpful as she’s been for me, she’s never been afraid to give me direct, tough love. If you’ve ever attended any of her wildly popular workshops, you may have seen some of this approach. (Watch out for drips! No, no, no. Do it like this!) 

I know everyone says it, but I’ve got the best mom you could ask for, and she backs it up day after day. If you don’t believe me (and if you haven’t already), check out her blog and see for yourself. Maybe even wish her a happy birthday in the comments.

I love you mom, I hope you have the greatest day and a greater year.

Happy Birthday.

Image

12 thoughts on “Happy Birthday Mom!

  1. Well Justin, you do have the best Mom and I love her too! I believe that we met for a reason and we have been there for each other for some mutually great and rough times. Her life message is simple and so perfect: Follow your passions, Work hard, and love with all your heart! You may get dirt under your fingernails, look a bit disheveled, or get hurt. But You pick yourself up and do it again. (wash, rinse, repeat) BTW all her men are fabulous also and are on the same path!

    • Thanks Sue, such a thoughtful and sweet response. Hope to see you and Gene and the rest of the fam sometime sooner rather than later. It’s been far too long!

  2. I know your mom pretty well and I know how awesome and amazing she is! I got teary-eyed reading your post, you are very blessed to have such a special mom( I’m a little envious) lol… just don’t tell my mom that tho! Happy birthday Amy, you deserve nothing but the best on your bday my fellow Aquarian and one of my biggest inspirations! Xoxo

  3. I have loved reading your mom’s blog over the past few years. She truly is an inspiration to many! Hers is always one of the first blogs I read when I scan my inbox, even when I don’t have the time! Got to find out what’s new with Amy! The love and respect you boys have for your mom — it comes through in the script and the pictures. So heartwarming! Birthday blessings to Amy and many happy returns of the day!

  4. Justin…your mom is certainly so proud of you…and so glad that you have been able to “hitch your wagon to a star”…my favorite quote from Emerson….a beautiful birthday tribute for your mom…and she has certainly realized her dreams too…and is swinging on her star!!

  5. Pingback: Belated Birthday & Blogiversary Giveaway with Gressa Skin! | Plein Vanity

Leave a Reply

