Buffing Waxed and Painted Furniture With Chalk Paint® and Ultimate Buffing Brush

A common question and concern I get from many of our customers often pertains to waxing furniture. When using Annie Sloan Soft Wax, it’s important to not over think what you are doing. It’s a relatively simple process, despite the physically laboring aspect of it.

I like to work in sections. Wax-on, wax-off. You really don’t need a heck of a lot of wax on your brush or rag, and you just go ahead and bang it out. While I recommend using the Ultimate Wax Brush, a nice lint-free cloth will work as well (old, soft t-shirts fit the bill). Just dab a little bit of wax onto your applicator and really work the wax into the paint. I tend to work in about 16 inch sections or until the wax on my brush runs out. You’ll see that the applied wax will deepen the color, so it makes it easy to see once the wax has run out. Once you’ve reached that point, take a separate, clean, lint-free cloth and wipe away any excess. I like to wipe with the grain of the wood to provide a really clean finish. Once you’ve done that, reapply another dab of wax and move on to the next section and repeat. You’ll be done before you know it.

I think where people sometimes get hung up is on how long they leave the wax before wiping away the surplus. The wax takes 24 hours to dry and another two weeks or so to cure. After the first 24 hours is when we recommend that you buff it to give a really soft, semi-gloss finish. I know that some folks mistook buffing as wiping away the recrement wax, but that would be wrong. What was happening to these folks is that they were applying the wax and after waiting 24 hours to remove the extra, it was dried and sticky and nearly impossible. So don’t make the same mistake and wipe away as you go.

On to buffing…

I’ve recently worked on a painted dining table that my client specifically wanted a hard, shiny finish for. I was excited because it was a Graphite table, and I think the dark colors really lend themselves to showing off a great finish. For that table, I actually waxed it three times, waiting the requisite 24 hours between each coat. After the final coat and waiting period, I buffed the heck out of it using a really soft cloth. It came out great.

I only wish I had one of these babies:

We just brought in the Ultimate Buffing Brush specifically for these types of jobs. The 100% horse hair brush just takes buffing to a whole other level. I absolutely love it and plan to use it all the time.

20130228-164611.jpg

The great thing about waxed furniture, is that if it every loses its luster, you can just buff it back to glory! And don’t forget, to clean your waxed pieces, just use a wet sponge or cloth with a little soap, nothing harsher. Chemical cleaners will compromise the wax and potentially damage your finish.

Feel free to ask any questions in the comments!

20130228-164637.jpg

To purchase an Ultimate Buffing Brush, click here.

We’ve also recently added Chalk Paint and wax to our online store! Check it out!

130 thoughts on “Buffing Waxed and Painted Furniture With Chalk Paint® and Ultimate Buffing Brush

  1. Hey I have a question for you. I sanded down my kitchen table to the fresh wood and then I stained it with annie sloan dark wax. I did three coats, but only waited about 2 hours in between each coat. I did do the whole “wax on was off” thing. I was told it would act as a stain and then a seal, but I am nervous to clean/wipe down my table because I spilled a touch of water on it the other night (first time using it as our dinner table) and it seemed to have soaked into the wood as if it were fresh wood or had no finish on it. Help. It was my first time using her products and it turned our beautifully I just don’t know if I need to now go over it with something like polyurethane or….?

    • Hello Amber,
      I also just finished my kitchen table on the 5th of January and had a similar issue I didn’t sand my table because with this chalk paint no need to sand but I’m also concerned.
      We use our table every night as a family and feel like we cant use our table and that’s frustrating. I didn’t see that you had your question answered.
      Can we use a polyurethane on top of the Annie Sloan chalk paint? I would also like to know the answer if you’ve found one :) Wendy

    • Hi Amber,

      I’m sorry, but somehow I missed your comment, and my reply is probably a little bit too late.

      Anyway, the dark wax doesn’t have the same protective quality that Annie Sloan clear wax does. This is probably why the water was able to penetrate. We advise to use dark wax in concert with clear wax every time. That is, apply and remove your clear wax as instructed, and immediately follow with dark wax. Dark wax also goes on best the sooner is it applied after the clear. The problem now is that if you were to apply clear wax over dark wax, you will remove some of your dark wax, so you’d probably then have to go back and add dark wax yet again. I hope this helps and I’m sorry for the late response!

    • ive just applied soft wax over old white chalk paint and fine black lines keep appearing.any ideas what is causing this please

      • Hi Heather,

        This sounds like a bad batch of wax. I’ve only seen that once before, but a customer came to us with the same problem. I would bring it back to your local stockist and explain to them your problem. They should replace it for you. That’s what we did anyway.

        Good luck!

        Sent from my iPhone

        >

  2. Hi, I want to refinish a large oak dining table. I don’t want to paint the top, just base and chairs. Can I apply dark wax over the oak top and get a darker stained look. Without sanding?

    • Dawn liquid dish soap works great for cleaning your brushes, and for cleaning your waxed furniture, any mild soap is fine.

      Sent from my iPhone

      >

  3. I just waxed and buffed a chair which was painted with chalk paint and then lightly sanded. It has somewhat of a sheen but less than I expected. Can I wax it again over the buffing job? I use min-wax Paste Finishing Wax.

  4. I used Annie sloane clear wax on a table top stupidly placed chairs on top for display. Sold table now there are dirt spots ontop of table do I have to sand it and take off the wax and repaint ? Help

    • Before you do anything too labor intensive, I would try using a little clear wax to see if that will remove the spots. Make sure you give it twenty four hours to dry before you set anything on top of it. If that doesn’t work, use mineral spirits to remove the wax (and hopefully the spots) from the top. If you need to repaint, then do so at that point and then rewax.

      Sent from my iPhone

      >

  5. I see pictures where dark wax is applied over the pure white chalk paint and it looks smooth and clean. Mine looks blotchy and dingy EVERY time. I like the dark in the grooves and the paint changes to a nice deeper color but I don’t like dirty and dingy. I follow the intructions and it’s still not pretty. :(

  6. There are many humans around the world who like to eat
    pork. You need to cover the top of the truck caps while using German getting dressed.
    The seafood and rice were pressed using wooden (usually bamboo) molds.

  7. Help! I redid a table. Did my tinted wax (did not do color under) and I gues I too new at this, I left excess on. Its dries on and will buff but it Seems thick (duh) and I see brush strokes since I used tinted over cream.

    How can I fix? Do I lightly sand off the wax and start that part over? Or do I have to start all over?

    • Use mineral spirits (available at any hardware store) and wipe down to remove the wax. Give the mineral spirits time to dry and feel the piece to ensure that it feels like dry paint and the wax is gone. From there, wax again, and make sure to wipe away excess.

      Sent from my iPhone

      >

  8. I used the Annie Sloan white and I then used the clear wax…my furniture piece is not as shiny as I want it, can I use polyurithan on top for a brighter look?

  9. Hi, I am new to chalk painting, and have recently done a dresser that was my grandmothers. My question is this: what is the actual finished product supposed to feel like? Should it feel chalky in any way, or should it feel smooth, like a polyurethaned piece of furniture? Thanks for your advice!

    • It should feel smooth and soft, not quite as hard as polyurethane. I personally love a waxed finish and prefer it wherever possible.

      Sent from my iPhone

      >

Leave a Reply

